Find Authors (sorted alphabetically by last name):

Professor Nikos Papastergiadis

Nikos Papastergiadis is the Director of the Research Unit in Public Cultures, and a Professor in the School of Culture and Communication at The University of Melbourne. Nikos is the founder – with Scott McQuire – of the Spatial Aesthetics research cluster. He was educated at The University of Melbourne and the University of Cambridge. Prior to joining the School of Culture and Communication, he was Deputy Director of the Australia Centre at the University of Melbourne, Head of the Centre for Ideas at the Victorian College of Arts, and lecturer in Sociology and recipient of the Simon Fellowship at the University of Manchester.

Dr Ben Parr

Ben Parr is a research analyst in climate politics and policy. He has a PhD in Political Science from the University of Melbourne. From 2015 to 2018, he was a Research Fellow at the University of Melbourne. He is the author of Australian Climate Policy and Diplomacy: Government-Industry Discourses (2019) and is currently working on a book that explores the relationship between climate change and conflict prevention in countries located in the Middle East and North Africa.

Professor George Patton

George Patton is the Professor of Adolescent Health Research with the University of Melbourne. He trained in Child and Adolescent Psychiatry and later epidemiology. Professor Patton is a Senior Principal Research Fellow with the National Health and Medical Research Council. He has been extensively involved in both child and adolescent mental health research and global adolescent health work and has had advisory and consulting roles with WHO, UNICEF, World Bank, UNFPA and UN-DESA. He has previously coordinated two special series on adolescent health for the Lancet and is currently Chair of a ‘Lancet Commission on Adolescent Health and Well-being’.

Professor Leon Piterman AM

Leon Piterman is Emeritus Professor of General Practice at Monash University and former Pro Vice-Chancellor, Berwick and Peninsula Campuses. He established Australia’s largest and most successful Diploma/Masters Program in Family Medicine. In June 2006, Leon was made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for services to family medicine through distance education for doctors in remote areas, to research and student training, and to international education. In 2016 he was awarded the David De Kretser Medal for distinguished services to the Faculty of Medicine, Nursing and Health Sciences at Monash University.

Dr Maja Pleic

Maja Pleic is a global health consultant and public policy advisor in Croatia. She has a Masters degree in Political Economy of International Development from the University of Toronto. From 2015 to 2019 she worked as a coordinator at the Centre for Peace Studies in Zagreb, Croatia, where she coordinated a research and advocacy project on the state of inequality in the Republic of Croatia. She also was an executive board member for the centre from 2017-2019.

Dorothy Porter

Dorothy Porter (1954–2008) was a poet and writer. She graduated from the University of Sydney in 1975 and taught creative writing at the University of Technology, Sydney. Porter’s awards include The Age Book of the Year for poetry, the National Book Council Award for The Monkey’s Mask and the FAW Christopher Brennan Award for poetry. Two of her verse novels were shortlisted for the Miles Franklin Award: What a Piece of Work in 2000 and Wild Surmise in 2003. She was a recipient of the Christopher Brennan Award for lifetime achievement in poetry.

Dr Sarah Price

Sarah Price is the Director of Obstetric Medicine and an active Obstetric Medicine Physician at The Women’s Hospital, Melbourne. She is a staff specialist Endocrinologist at the Royal Melbourne Hospital. She is also an NHMRC Emerging Investigator Fellow (2022-2027) with the Department of Medicine, University of Melbourne. Her primary research interest is in metabolic diseases, including obesity, diabetes and hypertension, in women before, during and after pregnancy.Sarah is the immediate past President of the Australian Diabetes in Pregnancy Society (ADIPS) and has been a board member for the past 8 years.

Emeritus Professor Geoff Prince

Geoff Prince is Emeritus Professor of Mathematics at La Trobe University. He works in differential geometry, differential equations and their application. Professor Prince has a long academic career as a teacher and researcher at RMIT, UNE and La Trobe University where he was Head of Department. He was the Director of the Australian Mathematical Sciences Institute (AMSI) from 2009 until 2018. He is a Fellow of the Australian Mathematical Society and was formerly their Vice-President.

Emeritus Professor Joseph Proietto

Joseph Proietto is Professor Emeritus at the University of Melbourne in the Department of Medicine Austin Health and an Endocrinologist specialising in Diabetes and Obesity. He established the first obesity clinic in Victoria at the Royal Melbourne Hospital and is now Head of the Weight control clinic at Austin Health. Professor Proietto was the inaugural Sir Edward Dunlop Medical Research Foundation, Professor of Medicine, and Head of the Metabolic Disorders Research Group in the Department of Medicine, Austin Health. He is currently on the executive of World Obesity and is Chair of the Clinical Care Committee.

Professor Margot Prior AO

Margot Prior (1937–2020) was an Australian psychologist, educator and musician. She was professor of psychology at the University of Melbourne where her research focused on autism and literacy development. She was also director of psychology at the Royal Children’s Hospital and was adjunct professor at La Trobe University. In 2004 Prior was made an Officer of the Order of Australia for “service to the discipline of psychology in the areas of developmental and clinical psychology and for research leading to significant advances in the care and treatment of children with autism, learning difficulties and anxiety disorders”.