Find Authors (sorted alphabetically by last name):

Professor Susan Walker AO

Susan Walker is the Head of the Department of Obstetrics and Gynecology (since 2016) and also the Director of Perinatal Medicine at Mercy Hospital for Women. She was awarded the Sheila Handbury Chair of Maternal Fetal Medicine, University of Melbourne. Her research interests focus on improving the detection and management of fetal growth disorders, treatments for pre-eclampsia and prevention of stillbirth. In 2018, Professor Walker received an Order of Australia Medal for distinguished service to medicine, particularly in the disciplines of obstetrics and gynaecology, as an academic and clinician, and to professional organisations.

Professor Chris Wallace-Crabbe AM

Chris Wallace-Crabbe is an Australian poet, essayist and academic and Professor Emeritus in Culture and Communication at Melbourne University. He is the author of more than twenty collections of poetry. Professor Wallace-Crabbe has won many awards for his work including the Dublin Prize for Arts and Sciences in 1987, and the Melbourne Prize for Literature in 2015. His latest book Rondo (2018) was shortlisted for the 2019 Kenneth Slessor Prize for Poetry in the NSW Premier’s Literature Awards.

Scientia Professor Toby Walsh

Toby Walsh is a leading researcher in Artificial Intelligence. He is a Laureate Fellow and Scientia Professor of Artificial Intelligence in the School of Computer Science and Engineering at UNSW Sydney, and he also leads the Algorithmic Decision Theory group at CSIRO Data61. He has been elected a fellow of the Australian Academy of Science, a fellow of the ACM, the Association for the Advancement of Artificial Intelligence (AAAI) and of the European Association for Artificial Intelligence. He has won the prestigious Humboldt Prize as well as the NSW Premier’s Prize for Excellence in Engineering and ICT, and the ACP Research Excellence award.

Professor David Warton

David Warton is a Professor and Australian Research Council Future Fellow in the Department of Statistics at the University of New South Wales. His research interests are in ecological statistics – developing new methodologies for data analysis in ecological research, and increasing awareness in ecology and related disciplines of existing methodologies. Professor Warton is also the Founding Director (2016-) of Stats Central, the UNSW Statistical Collaboration and Consulting Unit, which is one of the largest academic statistical consultancies in the region.

Professor Lea Waters AM

Lea Waters is the Founding Director and Inaugural Gerry Higgins Chair in Positive Psychology at the Centre for Positive Psychology (now the Centre for Wellbeing Science) at the University of Melbourne. Lea holds affiliate positions at Cambridge University and the University of Michigan and serves on the Scientific Board at UC Berkeley’s Greater Good Science Center. Lea is the Past President of the International Positive Psychology Association (2017-2019) and serves on the Council of Happiness and Education for the World Happiness Council. She is a registered psychologist (AHPRA) and a full member of the Australian Psychological Society.

Distinguished Professor Rachel Webster AO

Rachel Webster is a Redmond Barry Distinguished Professor in the School of Physics where she has been teaching and researching astronomy for over 20 years. Her main areas of focus are extragalactic astronomy and cosmology; she researches black holes and the first stars of the universe. Her work has been globally recognised with internationally prestigious scholarships. Professor Webster is also a Chief Investigator at the Melbourne node of the national ARC Centre of Excellence for Astrophysics in 3D (ASTRO-3D), a Board member of Australian Astronomy Limited (AAL), a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science, an Officer of the Order of Australia

Dr Elizabeth T. Williams

Elizabeth T. Williams is a Senior Lecturer at the 3A Institute within the School of Cybernetics at the Australian National University (ANU). She completed her PhD in experimental nuclear structure at Yale University in December 2009 before commencing postdoctoral work in fundamental and applied nuclear physics at Yale and CSIRO. She has created and used cyber-physical systems to carry out her research in nuclear science, and has a fascination with how complex systems come together in a human context. She writes for a range of publications, including Australian Geographic, The Conversation, and Nature Chemistry.

Scientia Professor George Williams AO

George Williams is the Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Planning and Assurance), Anthony Mason Professor and a Scientia Professor at the University of New South Wales (UNSW). He has served as Dean of UNSW Law and held an Australian Research Council Laureate Fellowship. He has written and edited 37 books, including Australian Constitutional Law and TheoryThe Oxford Companion to the High Court of Australia and Human Rights under the Australian Constitution. George was made an Officer of the Order of Australia in 2011 “for distinguished service to the law in the fields of anti-terrorism, human rights and constitutional law as an academic, author, adviser and public commentator.”

Professor John Wiseman

John Wiseman is a Professorial Research Fellow at the Melbourne Sustainable Society Institute and Climate and Energy College at the University of Melbourne. He is also Adjunct Professor at the Melbourne School of Population and Global Health, University of Melbourne, Visiting Fellow at the Centre for Climate and Energy Policy, Crawford School of Public Policy, Australian National University, and Research Fellow at the Centre for Policy Development. He is a Board Member for The Next Economy. His current research and policy work focuses on strategies for restoring a safe climate and accelerating the transition to a just and resilient zero-carbon society.

Dr Niels Wouters

Niels Wouters is a Senior Design Researcher at Paper Giant. He was previously Head of Research and Emerging Practice for Science Gallery Melbourne and Research Fellow in the Interaction Design Lab at the University of Melbourne. His research practice in Human-Computer Interaction revolves around the democratisation of technology in order to achieve tangible benefits for society. Niels’ work is regularly featured in national and international media, highlighting the impact of new technology on urban life. He has a PhD in Architectural Engineering and also holds degrees in Architectural Design, Computer Science and Human-Computer Interaction.

Dr Phoebe Wynn-Pope

Phoebe Wynn-Pope is Head of Business and Human Rights at Corrs Chambers Westgarth, an independent law firm. She was previously Director of International Humanitarian Law and a member of the leadership team at the Australian Red Cross. Dr Wynn-Pope has over 25 years experience in the humanitarian sector and has worked in complex humanitarian emergencies and conflict zones throughout Africa, the Middle East and Europe. She holds a PhD in international law focusing on the role of the international community when confronting war crimes, crimes against humanity and genocide.