Find Authors (sorted alphabetically by last name):

Hannie Rayson

Hannie Rayson is a graduate of the University of Melbourne and the Victorian College of Arts. She has been a freelance journalist, editor, playwright and script-writer, and she co-founded the community theatre group Theatreworks in Melbourne. She holds an Honorary Doctorate of Letters from La Trobe University. Rayson was the joint recipient of the Sidney Myer Performing Arts Award in 1996 and has won Victorian and New South Wales Premier’s Literary Awards and the Helpmann Award for Best New Australian Work. She is the only playwright ever to be nominated for the Miles Franklin Award, for Life After George.

Dr Belinda Reeve

Belinda Reeve is a Senior Lecturer at the University of Sydney Law School. Her research explores the role of law, regulation, and policy in creating a healthy and sustainable food system. She is the co-founder of Australia’s first Food Governance Conference, as well as the Food Governance Node (at the University’s Charles Perkins Centre), which acts as a platform for cross-disciplinary research on novel legal, regulatory and policy strategies to improve nutrition and diet-related health.

Professor John Rice

John Rice is Executive Director of the Australian Council of Deans of Science (ACDS) and an honorary professor of mathematics at Sydney University. As Executive Director of the ACDS he established its annual teaching and learning conferences and the ACDS Teaching and Learning Centre. He was Dean of the Faculty of Science and Engineering at Flinders University (1993–2000) and the Faculty of Science at University of Technology, Sydney (2004–2008). He established the Australian Science and Mathematics School on Flinders University campus from 2000–2004. His mathematical interests are in differential and algebraic geometry.

Professor Lauren Rickards

Lauren Rickards is a Professor in the School of Global, Urban and Social Studies, Interim Director of the Urban Futures ECP and co-leader of the Climate Change Transformations research program at RMIT University. With degrees from the Universities of Oxford and Melbourne, and experience in the private sector, Lauren conducts research on many of the social dimensions of climate change, particularly in the water and agri-food sectors. Lauren advises a wide range of groups in government, business and the NGO sector on climate change issues and is a lead author with the Intergovernmental Panel in Climate Change.

Professor Matthew Ricketson

Matthew Ricketson is an academic and journalist and Professor of communication at Deakin University. He was previously inaugural professor of journalism at the University of Canberra between 2009 and 2017. He also ran the journalism program at RMIT for 11 years. From 2006 to 2009, Ricketson was Media and Communications Editor for The Age. He has worked at The Australian, Time Australia magazine and The Sunday Herald, among other publications. He is a chief investigator on two Australian Research Council projects investigating the impact of mass redundancies on Australian newsrooms and the reinvention of journalism.

John Riordan

John Riordan is a criminal lawyer in Victoria with over 10 years’ experience. He was a co-founder of the Mercy Campaign, a movement to support the clemency applications made by Andrew Chan and Myuran Sukumaran. John is currently serving as a director on the board of the Capital Punishment Justice Project (CPJP), and was a committee member of Reprieve Australia (now CPJP) from 2010 to 2014. In 2015 he completed a Master’s of Public International Law at Leiden University, and worked at both the International Criminal Tribunal for the Former Yugoslavia and the Extraordinary Chambers in the Courts of Cambodia.

Professor Andrew Roberts

Andrew Roberts is a Professor in the Research School of Earth Sciences and Dean of the College of Physical and Mathematical Sciences at the Australian National University. He was previously Head of the School of Ocean and Earth Science at the University of Southampton and Associate Director of the UK’s National Oceanography Centre. His areas of expertise are environmental magnetism and palaeomagnetism, marine geoscience, geochronology and tectonics.

Jennifer Robinson

Jennifer Robinson is an Australian human rights lawyer, a barrister with Doughty Street Chambers in London and an adjunct lecturer in Law at the University of Sydney Law School. She was a Rhodes Scholar at the University of Oxford and graduated with a Bachelor of Civil Law and a Master of Philosophy in International Public Law. Before coming to the Bar, she founded the Bertha Justice Initiative and is Director of Legal Advocacy for the Bertha Foundation in London. Robinson is best known for her role as a long-standing member of the legal team defending Julian Assange and WikiLeaks.

Professor Tilman Ruff AO

Tilman Ruff is an infectious diseases and public health physician and an associate professor at the Nossal Institute for Global Health at the University of Melbourne. He is an international medical adviser to the Australian Red Cross and a member of the World Health Organisation’s expert panel on hepatitis B for the Western Pacific region. Professor Ruff is co-president of International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War, recipient of the 1985 Nobel Peace Prize, and founding international and Australian chair of the International Campaign to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (ICAN), which was awarded the 2017 Nobel Peace Prize.

Professor Mary Ryan

Mary Ryan is the Executive Dean of Education and Arts at Australian Catholic University (ACU). She was previously the Dean of Education at Macquarie University. She is the President of the NSW Council of Deans of Education and a Principal Fellow of the UK Higher Education Academy. Professor Ryan’s research is in the areas of writing pedagogy and assessment, reflective writing, teachers’ work and professional learning, the enabling and constraining conditions for graduating students to manage the demands of their profession, and reflexive learning and practice. She is the recipient of a national citation for outstanding contributions to student learning.