Find Authors (sorted alphabetically by last name):

Dr Niraj Lal

Niraj Lal is a Visiting Fellow at the ANU Centre for Sustainable Energy and recipient of the 2021 Celestino Eureka Prize for Promoting Understanding of Science. He graduated in 2012 with a PhD in Physics from the University of Cambridge as a Gates Scholar and in 2016 was named one of the ABC’s Top 5 Scientists Under 40. He currently serves as an Academic Expert for the IEA Photovoltaic Program Task 14 ‘High penetration of photovoltaics in electricity grids’.

Dr Adam Landau

Adam Landau is a Urological Surgeon with special interests in robotic, laparoscopic and open surgery, male voiding difficulty, and kidney stones. Adam initially trained as a Physiotherapist, and worked at Carlton football club in 1995 & 1996. After studying medicine, he spent several years training in Radiology, prior to specialising as a Urological Surgeon. This interest led to the completion of a Diploma of Diagnostic Ultrasound, and regular use of MRI in the diagnosis of prostate cancer. Adam is a member of Australian Urology Associates.

Emeritus Professor Peter Langridge

Peter Langridge is an Emeritus Professor at the School of Agriculture, Food and Wine, University of Adelaide and Fellow of the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering. His research focuses on plant genomics, cereal genetics and genetic engineering. Peter was the Chief Executive Officer and Director of the Australian Centre for Plant Functional Genomics (ACPFG) from 2003-2014. He has been a member of the Genetic Manipulation Advisory Committee and the Genetic Technology Technical Advisory Committee. He is currently the International Science Coordinator for the Wheat Initiative. In 2011 he was awarded South Australian Scientist of the Year.

Professor Marcia Langton AO

Marcia Langton, anthropologist, geographer and academic, is a descendant of the Yiman and Bidjara nations of Queensland. Since 2000 she has been Foundation Chair of Australian Indigenous Studies at the University of Melbourne, where she is Associate Provost. She has produced a large body of knowledge in the areas of political and legal anthropology, Indigenous agreements and engagement with the minerals industry, and Indigenous culture and art. Professor Langton is a Fellow of the Academy of Social Sciences in Australia, a Fellow of Trinity College, Melbourne and an Honorary Fellow of Emmanuel College at The University of Queensland.

Professor Michael Lavarch AO

Michael Lavarch is an Australian lawyer, educator and former politician. He was the Attorney-General for Australia between 1993 and 1996 and was Executive Dean of the Faculty of Law at Queensland University of Technology from 2004 to 2012, after which he became Emeritus Professor. During his political career, he was particularly interested in human rights and native title issues. He was responsible for instigating the National Inquiry into the Separation of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Children from Their Families in 1995, culminating in the publication of the Bringing Them Home Report.

Dr Kobi Leins

Kobi Leins is an international lawyer with corporate, academic and policy experience in digital ethics, disarmament and human rights. Leins is an expert in the use of nanomaterials in armed conflict. Leins has managed programs and teams in the areas of administrative law & justice, humanitarian law, human rights law, and disarmament with the United Nations and the International Committee of the Red Cross. From 2019-2021 she was a Senior Research Fellow in Digital Ethics with the University of Melbourne and a non-resident Fellow at the United Nations Institute of Disarmament Research.

Dr Clement Lo

Clement Lo is a general Endocrinologist based at Monash Health where he provides both inpatient and outpatient care to patients with diabetes and endocrine issues. At Monash Health, he helped establish the Diabetes and Kidney Service where he is the Diabetes clinical lead. He also manages patients with obesity as a member of the Clinical Nutrition and Metabolism Unit. In addition, he is a research fellow at the School of Public Health and Preventive Medicine, Monash University, and sits on the Medical, Educational and Scientific Advisory Committee for Diabetes Australia.

Professor Ian Lowe AO

Ian Lowe is an Emeritus Professor of Science, Technology and Society and former Head of the School of Science at Griffith University. His principal research interests focus on the intersection of policy, science and technology with an emphasis on energy use, large scale environmental issues and sustainable development. He was president of the Australian Conservation Foundation (ACF) from 2004 to 2014. He was made an Officer of the Order of Australia in 2001 for services to science and technology, In 2002 he was awarded a Centenary Medal and won the Eureka Prize for promotion of science.

Dr Melanie Lowe

Melanie Lowe is Research Fellow in Urban Resilience and Innovation at the Melbourne Sustainable Society Institute. Melanie’s research investigates how to plan healthy and resilient cities, and the use of indicators to monitor and inform policy. She works at the interface of the public health and urban planning fields, highlighting the co-benefits that can be achieved for human health, sustainable development, liveability and urban resilience. Her research has been included in local, state and federal planning and public health policy documents in Australia. She was a lead collaborator on research that won the 2019 Planning Institute of Australia National Award for Cutting Edge Research and Teaching.

Dr Kate Lycett

Dr Kate Lycett, based in the School of Psychology, Deakin University, is a co-funded NHMRC and National Heart Foundation Early Career Researcher. Her research interests span child mental health, obesity, cardiovascular health, epidemiology, public health, sleep, air pollution and well-being at both the individual and societal levels. Her fellowship examines the relationship between mental health and cardiovascular health in childhood and mid-life. Kate has a Bachelor of Arts and a Graduate Diploma in Psychology, and a PhD in Paediatrics.